10 Things I’m Loving Now – i amsterdam


In Amsterdam the water is the mistress and the land the vassal. Throughout the city there are as many canals and drawbridges as bracelets on a Gypsy’s bronzed arms.

– Felix Marti-Ibanez

From life’s simple stuff to grandiose pleasures, bring it on!

Whenever I am off for vacation, days before the trip I’d normally google and read articles about my next destination. This time however, I didn’t do much. I was less excited. I only had few expectations. Perhaps I was influenced by what I heard (about the Dutch) and what the trip is primarily intended (for a conference).

Four days hence in Amsterdam, all I can just say is, “Bitin!” Amsterdam, I haven’t had enough of you. I involuntarily stucked myself in the hotel for two days, and understandably, enjoying the city overnight was not enough. It was a one-night stand but you left me hanging and it’s actually, my fault. Wow, this does sound like a heart break alright. Well, most especially, it is undeniably tough for me to move on when I failed to visit Van Gogh museum (sigh).

To know more about visiting Amsterdam, check out the city’s official travel site, www.iamsterdam.com.

1. Canal Cruise

In Amsterdam, the best way to enjoy the city (quickly) is not through a tour bus, but a canal cruise.

No visitor should miss out on a water-borne tour of the splendid canals of Amsterdam. The canals, which were declared a UNESCO monument in 2010, aren’t just a picturesque attraction, but were essential to defense and transport in 17th-century Amsterdam. With the arrival of the automobile, hundreds of canals were filled in nationwide to accommodate the new mode of transport, but Amsterdam has retained 165 of its historic canals, more than any other Dutch city. Definitely a canal tour makes for a wonderful first impression, as the tour boats take in much of the monumental architecture that lines the Canal Belt, the four concentric semi-circles that loop around the the historic Center (reference: goamsterdam.about.com).

NEXT: Amsterdam architecture

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Leave a Reply

