Apprendre la Langue Française (Part 78): le verbe – voir (l’usage et les expressions)


Source: french.about.com

Voir is one of the most common French verbs. It is irregular in conjugation, means “to see” in most senses of the word, and is found in a number of idiomatic expressions.

Voir means “to see.”

Je vois Lise le samedi. I see Lise on Saturdays.

Je vois deux chiens. I see two dogs.

As-tu vu ce film ? Have you seen this movie?

Voir can mean “to see” figuratively, in the sense of “to witness” or “to experience”:

Je n’ai jamais vu un tel enthousiasme. I’ve never seen such enthusiasm.

Il a vu la mort de tous ses amis. He has seen (lived through) the deaths of all of his friends.

Voir is also commonly used to mean “to see” in the sense of “to understand.”

Ah, je vois ! Oh, I see! (I get it, I understand)

Je ne vois pas la différence. I don’t see (understand) the difference.

Je ne vois pas comment vous avez décidé. I don’t see (understand) how you decided.

Voir can be followed by an infinitive to mean “to see” literally or figuratively:

As-tu vu sauter la petite fille ? Did you see the little girl jump?

J’ai vu grandir ses enfants. I saw (witnessed) his children growing up.

Aller voir means “to go (and) see”:

Tu devrais aller voir un film. You should go see a movie.

Va voir si elle est prête. Go and see if she’s ready.

Faire voir means “to show”:

Fais-moi voir tes devoirs. Let me see / Show me your homework.

Fais voir ! Let me see! Show me!

Voir venir (informal, figurative) means “to see something/someone coming”:

Je te vois venir. I see where you’re going (with this), what you’re leading up to.

Mais c’est trop cher ! On t’a vu venir ! But that’s too expensive! They saw you coming!

Se voir can be a pronominal or passive voice construction.

1. Pronominal

Reflexive – to see oneself

Te vois-tu dans la glace ? Do you see yourself in the mirror?

Je me vois habiter en Suisse. I see (can imagine) myself living in Switzerland.

(figurative) – to find oneself, be in the position of

Je me vois obliger de partir. I find myself obliged to leave.

Il s’est vu contraint d’en parler. He found himself forced to talk about it.

Reciprocal – to see each other

Nous nous voyons tous les jours. We see each other every day.

Quand se sont-ils vus ? When did they see each other?

2. Passive

a) to happen; to show, be visible

Ça se voit. That happens.

Ça ne se voit pas tous les jours. You don’t see that / That doesn’t happen every day.

Le trou ne se voit pas. You can’t see the hole / The hole isn’t visible.

b) se voir plus infinitive – to be + past participle

Il s’est vu dire de se taire. He was told to be quiet.

Je me suis vu interdire de répondre. I was forbidden to respond.

Possible meanings of se voir

– to see oneself
– to see each other
– to find oneself
– to show
– to happen

Expressions with se voir

Cela (Ça) se voit. It / That happens; I can tell.

se voir en cachette
to meet secretly

Ils ne peuvent pas se voir. They can’t stand each other.

Here are some expressions with voir.

voir à (literary)
to see to it that, to make sure that

voir 36 chandelles
to see stars

voir la vie en rose
to see life through rose-colored glasses

voir venir
wait and see

avoir quelque chose à voir avec/dans
to have something to do with

en faire voir de dures à qqun
to give someone a hard time

en faire voir de toutes les couleurs
to give someone a hard time

faire voir 36 chandelles à qqun
to beat the living daylights out of someone

ne pas avoir grand-chose à voir avec/dans
to not have much to do with

ne rien avoir à voir avec/dans
to have nothing to do with

ne voir aucun mal à qqchose
to not see any harm in something

n’y voir goutte
to not see a thing

n’y voir que du feu
to be completely fooled

rien à voir
nothing to do with

Cela n’a rien à voir avec…
That has nothing to do with…

C’est mal vu. People don’t like that.

C’est quelque chose qui ne se voit pas tous les jours. There’s something you don’t see every day.

C’est tout vu. It’s a foregone conclusion.

Essaie un peu pour voir ! Just you try it!

Fais voir ! Show me!

histoire de voir
just to see

Il faut voir. We’ll (have to wait and) see.

Il en a vu des vertes et des pas mûres. He has taken some hard knocks.

Il faut le voir pour le croire. It has to be seen to be believed.

J’en ai vu d’autres ! I’ve see worse!

Je l’ai vu de mes propres yeux. I saw it with my own eyes.

Je l’ai vu naître. I’ve known him since he was born.

Je n’ai rien à voir dans cette affaire. I have nothing to do with that.

Je ne peux pas les voir en peinture ! I can’t stand them!

Je n’y vois pas d’inconvénient. I have no objection, I see no problems.

Je te vois venir ! I know what you’re up to!

Je voudrais t’y voir ! I’d like to see you try it!

On aura tout vu ! That would be too much!

On commence à y voir plus clair. Things are beginning to come clear.

On n’en voit pas la fin. The end is nowhere in sight.

On verra. We’ll see.

On verra bien ! We’ll see about that!

Vous voyez d’ici le tableau ! Just picture it!

Voyons ! Come on! Let’s see!

Conjugations in present tense

je vois
tu vois
il/elle/on voit
nous voyons
vous voyez
ils/elles voient
Leave a Reply

