Coffee Reads of the Week – mythical secret no more


Some of the articles I enjoyed reading over the net are worth sharing, too. Check out my weekly posts via the Coffee Reads series. I’ve got my google reader to back me up so do also check out my shared reads. Enjoy!

business: 7 millionaire myths by Claire Bradley
Millionaires don’t pay their taxes. They just inherited their money. They feel rich. They have high-paying jobs. They all drive fancy cars. They hang around the golf course all day. And they’re elitists!

health & fitness: 25 best nutrition secrets by David Zinczenko
Drink a second cup of coffee. Keep serving dishes off the table. Think before you drink. Practice total recall. Eat protein every meal. Choose whole-grain bread. Think fish. Sign-up for weight-loss emails. Cut portions by a quarter. Turn off the TV. Put your fork down when you chew. Choose rye (not wheat) bread for breakfast toast. Eat a handful of fruit and vegetables a day. Sip green tea. Work out before lunch or dinner. Hung over, choose asparagus. Sleep 8 hours a night. Discover miso soup. Drink two glasses of milk daily. Take a zinc supplement. Go ahead, eat your favorite foods. Snack on popcorn.Or snack on walnuts. Scramble your breakfast.

personals: 9 things teachers wish parents knew
Don’t be a stranger! Learning doesn’t stop at 3:15. Stay involved – even when you don’t know the material. Keep your child organized. Let your child make mistakes. Raise a good reader. If the teacher deserves a good grade, give her one. The teacher’s on your side – give her the benefit of the doubt. There is a secret to better grades.

health & fitness: How long does it take to fall out of shape?
I’ve been out of the exercise routine for almost a month now. I haven’t gained much weight since I stopped and fascinatingly, I felt like I even lost a few pounds more since I arrived in Geneva. Despite this, I still somewhat feel that the strength and speed I used to achieve are now starting to wane. So this is a must read for me then!

green lifestyle: Signs of a green hypocrite by Lori Bongiorno
Recycles regularly, but shops constantly and uses a lot of disposables. Buys only organic food, but eats meat at every meal. Owns a hybrid, but drives all around town alone. Built a green house, but it’s enormous and it’s a second home. Takes an eco-vacation, but flies thousands of miles in first-class to get there. Carries reusable grocery bags, but fills them with bottled water and packaged junk (blame Migro and all the rest of the supermarkets!). Who’s guilty? Raise your hands.

follow more of my reads via google reader

Leave a Reply

