Coffee Read of the Week – 21 Things We’re Learning to Live Without


Some of the articles I enjoyed reading over the net are worth sharing, too. Check out my weekly posts via the Coffee Reads series. I’ve got my google reader to back me up so do also check out my shared reads. Enjoy!

Out of 21 from this list, I can say until now that I have lived without:

(1) window shopping: there’s no valid excuse anymore, like, it’s a form of an exercise?

(2) bells and whistles: my mantra on shopping for gadgets – simpler, practical gizmos over Apple!

(3) clutter: less is more.

(4) cable TV: I have never availed ever and I feel proud that I just didn’t.

(5) home phone: since the advent of mobile phones, what’s the use of this one for me?

(6) privacy: “grown kids are moving back in with their parents.” I raise my hands. Luckily, I still have my room.

(7) prepared foods: it’s way cheaper and healthier.

(8) tupperware parties: I’ve never been a big fan anyway.

(9) lattes: over time, I prefer to drink coffee at the comforts of my home.

(10) guilt: it’s going back to the basics.

(11) extra calories: this says enough.

(12) newspapers and magazines: I just found a small stack of old magazines (from whimsical Cosmo to serious Time and NewsWeek), and it made me smile that I’m not into it anymore. The Internet has given us a vast pool of free information and entertainment now so what’s the sense of buying print copies?

(13) new gifts: I admit, I love re-gifting!

(14) new cars: I haven’t owned a car and I’m not keen with having one yet soon. I actually enjoy commuting more.

(15) a daily commute: say, staycation?

Read the full article here.

follow more of my reads via google reader

Leave a Reply

