My Personal Goals in 2010


Live Now. Do Now.

a call to action

“If you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal, not to people or things.” – Albert Einstein

Here are some of the personal goals in 2010 that I’d like to share.

This ain’t a final list. My intuition is telling me there’ll be more (goals) to come. As always.

Being

Good cook
Reliable (family) driver
Practical and wise spender
Advanced Communicator Bronze TM
Fluent in French

Doing

Back to the joys of reading and writing
Watch more independent movies
Going places
Spend good times with family and friends
Give back
Explore intuitive talent

Having

Achieve my desired weight and keep it
Upgrade/redesign my personal blog
Another new blog of a particular interest

A fellow Toastmaster has introduced me to 43 Things.com. He amuses me every time he posts his new, interesting goals at his Facebook account. So I told myself that come 2010, I am going to use 43 Things as a tool to keep track of my personal goals. Here’s my profile. You can check me out how I progress.

To keep you (and me) even more inspired, read this article from Lia Steakley Dicker of 43 Things.com. I guess, going public with some of your plans (while others can remain as a surprise, it’s your choice) won’t hurt. Who knows, you may find people along the way who share the same sentiments with you and eventually help you achieve your goals. Possibilities are endless.

I also believe that we can do things or make changes in our lives at any time. We can choose to do it next year, next month, next week, tomorrow or even today. Yet it’s always been a good, fun tradition to start anew on the beginning of the new year. The people way back in the ancient times have done it. Babylonians perform good deeds such as paying off debts or returning borrowed goods at the beginning of the year. Romans on the other, offer resolutions of good conduct to the god of beginnings and endings, Janus, after which the name of the first month of the year was named in honor of this god.

What really matters in the end, we enjoy the journey of life and find the happiness that we deserve.

Let’s start the year right now. Happy 2010, everyone.

Leave a Reply

